Skip navigation

The last subject in the pool is an image of which at first I thought as an advert image for lingerie, just another commercial fashion photo.

Sourced from: http://www.vam.ac.uk/vastatic/microsites/photography/photographerframe.php?photographerid=ph016 [accessed 24 September 2010] [Blackboard]

However, after attending most groups’ discussions, I got to know more about Corinne Day in her interview quoted in Joshua’s blog. While I was not very happy with some of Sally Mann’s set-up photos of kids, I can see bits of me myself and agree here and there with  Corinne Day in a very personal and emotional way.

I get my ideas anywhere, at any time; I don’t have to be specifically doing anything. I keep a diary at home and make notes of any thoughts I have, and then when a job comes up, I see if there’s anything in it that applies. I’m a workaholic, and I’m quite driven. I can’t switch off. Even when I was on holiday recently, I wanted to get away from taking photographs and just go somewhere else in my mind. I wouldn’t take my camera out with me, but I would still see pictures all the time and think: ‘Oh god, I wish I had brought my camera.’

People can be very inspiring – they can make you see that there’s a life beyond what you’ve learnt at school. When I was 12, my grandmother knew a painter who was friends with Modigliani and Picasso. I used to be painted by her and she would talk to me about art and imagery, and I think that was my first introduction to the creative mind.

I guess you must learn to be creative. I learnt photography when I picked up my first camera at 19. I started by taking photographs of my boyfriend and then my girlfriends. I have a very distinctive taste for the things I like to photograph, and that’s a very solitary creativity, in a way. I’ve always known what I’ve liked and I’ve always gone in the opposite direction of everyone else. I get bored easily of seeing the same thing over and over.

A very big source of inspiration for me is music – it brings atmospheres alive. I really believe you have to have time off to be creative, which is why I don’t have a darkroom. If I did have one, I’d spend my whole life revolving around photography, and then I wouldn’t get any inspiration to take pictures. I wouldn’t say that documentary photography is more creative than fashion photography, it’s just that documentary photography is more important for me because it’s something I’ve lived. It’s much more deep. Whereas when you’re creating an image, you’re just using your imagination, so it’s not so emotional.

– By Kate Mikhail. Creativity: Corinne Day. The Observer. Sunday 22nd September 2002

http://www.guardian.co.uk/theobserver/2002/sep/22/features.magazine187 [Accessed on 25. 10. 2010]

I started to take pictures as photography in 2007 when I was 19. I took hundreds of photos of my little cousin and my grandma’s countryside natural scenes with a borrowed camera from a close friend back then. I newly get a humble first camera for myself using the rest of my saved up Vietnam Dong before leaving for London before I turned 22. Comparing to Sally Mann who got her first camera from her dad while I haven’t talked with my dad for several years because of continous domestic violence, I find more connections with Corinne Day, personally speaking. Above and besides those things, the key word/ thing is ‘documentary’ – it has been the reason why I have been taking photos and filming places and people – to record Real life, to keep Real memories, Real motions stay, as Real as I can take them, a bit longer.

Transferred to the course two weeks late, get access to the subject pool one more week late, despite all that I couldn’t help myself from being picky as usual. I went through almost all the subjects once and think about them all for two weeks before making the final decision to stick with Corinne Day’s photo from Today – I want to study about what I actually am fond of and have some kind of connections with. That means I have almost only one month left for everything, adding continous accomodation changes, I am afraid I won’t be able finish the research the way I want it to be. However, I would continue researching about Corinne Day whenever time permits.

I am also pleased that I have finally made up my mind to study about works of an English person, now that I am stuyding in London, England.

It was not ‘love at first sight’ but now Corinne Day’s photo ‘Georgina, Brixton’ and I end up together in this critical and research practice blog. Below are the very first notes I wrote down after first seeing the photo two weeks ago:

– nice body

– bare dirty feet

– what is she looking at?

– where is that room?

– why black sofa?

– why is she in lingerie?

– with the wire and the sofa, is that a living room?

– dirty floor

– was the color of the photo photoshopped? did the carpet and the lingerie actually have similar colors?

Leave a Reply

